1. Like the site? Help us keep it running! For $5 you can help keep the site running smoothly and disable ads for life. The site is funded by donations like this and minimal ad revenue: Click here to donate $5. Thank you!

Compulsory Heterosexuality

Discussion in 'Lesbian' started by perplexedmelon, Jun 30, 2020 at 9:59 PM.  |  Print Topic

Support the site and hide ads for life for $5. Click here to donate.

Watchers:
This thread is being watched by 4 users.
  1. perplexedmelon

Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    This is my first time doing something like this, but I'm really needing of advice or like?? support to make me feel more...valid I guess. I'm 18, I've known I was attracted to women since I was 12 years old. I didn't even realize being gay was an option until I was 11, through friends and social media. I don't have a problem with my attraction towards women. It's something I'm completely certain about and don't doubt at all. Yet when it comes to men, I can't say the same. I've bounced between labeling myself as bi or lesbian for years now, but predominantly I stated I was bi because it felt 'safer' to me. I liked a lot of fictional men and male celebrities, so I thought I was undeserving or unworthy of being a lesbian. But part of me has never been completely satisfied with that. I've never been attracted to real men that are attainable. The implication that I would ever be in a relationship with a man is repulsive to me. I've recently read a whole document outlining compulsory heterosexuality for lesbians, and practically all of it applies to me. But I feel like I'm unworthy, like I've been lying to myself and others by always stating I'm bi. Part of me keeps trying to convince myself that one day I will be attracted to men, even though I never have been before. I spent a long time thinking finding a man attractive must mean I am attracted to him, which isn't true at all. Could someone tell me if what I'm experiencing is normal?

2. ToniLes87
    Sleepy